Overnight Apple-Cinnamon Oatmeal

20140201-172136.jpg
I’ve been using my crockpot exclusively for beans for the past two years. Poor thing! I figured it was time I gave it some new ingredients to work with.

I tweaked a this recipe for Overnight Apple-Cinnamon Oatmeal from Fresh from the Vegan Slow Cooker, and it’s probably the best oatmeal I’ve ever had. Seriously. It’s creamy, caramely, appley goodness, and I think you should try it!


Ingredients
1 1/4 cups steel-cut oats
3 cups water
2 cups apple juice (I used fresh-pressed from Gala apples, because I was feeling over-achiever-ish)
2 apples – peeled, cored, and chopped (I used Galas)
1/2 cup golden raisins (I used regular purple raisins!)
1/4 cup packed brown sugar or granulated natural sugar (I used natural sugar)
1 tbsp ground flax (the recipe says it’s optional, and I chose to use it!)
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt
Unsweetened almond milk, for serving.

The How To
Lightly oil your slow cooker insert.
Combine all ingredients except almond milk and mix well.
Cover and cook on low until the oatmeal is thickened and the oats are soft, 7-8 hours
Serve with almond milk, or don’t;
it’s pretty perfect all by itself.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

