Tofu-Based White Sauce

What I really wanted for dinner tonight was some “cheesy” pasta, but I don’t have any vegan cheese laying around at the moment, and I’m out of nutritional yeast. *gasp*
The horror!

Anyway, I had extra-firm tofu and almond milk, so here’s what I did.

20140203-194522.jpg

Ingredients
1 tbsp Earth Balance vegan butter
2 cloves garlic – minced
Half a package of extra-firm tofu (about 6-7 ounces)
1 cup almond milk
1/4-1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1 tsp Italian seasoning

The How To
Blend tofu and almond milk in blender until smooth.
Heat butter in a medium skillet over medium-low heat, and when it’s melted, add the garlic.
Let sizzle for 3-4 minutes.
Add tofu mixture to the garlic and butter, then add salt, pepper, and Italian seasoning.
Cook at medium heat, stirring occasionally, for 9-12 minutes (the time it took for my pasta to cook).

Kinda ricotta-y!

20140203-195637.jpg

Not exactly what I was dreaming of (Daiya! <3), but it satisfied my craving!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

